Frenchman Nolan Beddiaf and Maite Ancín from Navarre, winners of the P2P 2018

Frenchman Nolan Beddiaf and Navarre's Maite Ancín winners of the 2018 P2P in an exciting sprint contested with their supporters.

Nolan Beddiaf has been the winner of the X edition of the Pamplona - Puente Skate Marathon held today Sunday 9th with a time of 1h 08 m 51s with an average of 36'764 km/h. The Frenchman of the EOSkate World Team, several times world champion and winner of the P2P in 2010 in a spectacular race very disputed from the start with a group of 10 riders in the lead. Second to cross the finish line was his compatriot, winner in 2017 and also world champion Ewen Fernandez of Rollerblade World Team. The third classified was the Valencian David Morell, also international of the In-Gravity International Team.

A very close finish has been the one that has opened the women's podium. The Navarre Maite Ancín of the A.D. San Juan-Donibane KE, international medalist has crossed the finish line in a spectacular sprint crossing the finish line in a time of 1h 17m 6s 060 hundredths. The Argentinean and world champion, Rocío Berbel, last year's record winner, came in shortly after in a time of 1h 17m 6s 603 hundredths. Ancín achieved the first place in the 2015 marathon with 1h 14 minutes 30 seconds. Third place went to Maialen Oñate, also from Navarre, in a time of 1h 21m 10s.

The strong storms that fell during the early morning did not prevent more than 400 skaters, both federated and popular, to go out, although the pace of the race was very different due to the circumstances and conditions that also made it very difficult to beat the record in this edition, which is in 1:03:25 in the men's category and 01:12:27 in the women's category. It is the first time in these ten editions in which the weather has not favored the runners.

This year there has been an important novelty with respect to the first peloton of the women's category who, with 2 km to go to the finish line, have run a separate lane from the men's, coming together again in the last 800 meters, so that they could compete in the final sprint in a cleaner way.

The first to cross the Ororbia finish line was Juan Cruz Araldi from Argentina and Maite Ancín from Navarre. The Ciriza flying goal was for the Vitoriano Aitor Vacas and for the Argentinean Rocío Berbel. The mountaintop in Orendáin was won by the second classified Ewen Fernández and in the women's category by Maite Ancín. The prize for the first Navarrese was won by Dani Muro, one of the first promoters of this P2P, a prize that he also shares with Maite Ancín.

This edition we have been able to enjoy a screen at the finish line where we have been able to watch live the development of the race. Four cameras have collected images at various points of the race while the national coach, Garikoitz Lerga and Javier Saralegui of Onda Cero commented from the streaming the development of the race.